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What is a Good CTR for Facebook Ads?

All Facebook ad campaigns begin with an ad creative. But they don’t start converting until the clicks start rolling in.


Your click-through rate, or CTR, is an essential metric for a lot of reasons. For one, it determines (in part) your Facebook ad costs. It’s a crucial measure of audience engagement.


And without clicks, users don’t enter the sales funnel – let alone land on your external website to initiate a purchase.


In other words, your click-through rate helps signal your success. And as inflation continues to pound wallets, it’s more important than ever to see a good CTR for Facebook ads.


But defining a good click-through rate, or even an average click-through rate, can be tricky.

That’s why we’re going to explore a good CTR for Facebook ads – and how to achieve it.


What is Your Facebook CTR?

Your click-through rate (CTR) reflects how many times users click on your Facebook ads.


Your CTR comes in handy for determining how well your Facebook ads perform in terms of bringing potential customers to a particular destination page. (Such as your Facebook page or website’s landing page.)


Facebook defines several kinds of clicks, each of which produces its own CTR:

  • Link clicks make up the “regular” CTR (when users click links that lead on or off Facebook)

  • Clicks (all) represent any click on your Facebook ad, such as hitting the like button or expanding photos

  • Outbound CTR only measures off-site clicks - that is, links that take users off Facebook, such as to your website

Each of these CTR metrics provides valuable information. However, which one matters to you depends on whether you’re trying to drive conversions on or off the platform.


Why Does Facebook Ads CTR Matter?

Your CTR offers valuable insights into your Facebook ad campaign performance.

While the information is somewhat nonspecific, a lagging click-through rate acts as a barometer to say that you may be:

  • Targeting the wrong audience

  • Using the wrong placement

  • Sending the wrong message

  • Using poor ad creatives

  • Writing subpar ad copy

Overall, the higher your CTR and ad engagement, the more relevant or converting your ads. But if 5,000 people view your Facebook ad and only 5 people click, it’s time to reconsider your approach.


How to Calculate CTR

Facebook calculates your CTR by dividing your total ad clicks by your total ad impressions (the number of people who see your ad). You then multiply that number by 100 to get a percentage.


So, if Facebook shows your ad to 1,000 people and 200 people click, your click-through rate is (200 clicks) / (1,000 views) = 0.20 x 100% = 20%.


How to Find Your CTR on Facebook Ads Manager

Fortunately, you don’t have to calculate each ad’s CTR by hand.

Instead, log into the Facebook Ad Manager and navigate to the Ads tab. Then, select your preferred timeframe.


In the first view that comes up, Facebook reveals the number of unique link clicks you receive.

You can find your click-through rate by selecting for your ad's “Performance and Clicks” under the Columns tab. This will show both your link clicks and total click-through rate.


You can also identify your outbound clicks alone. Under Columns, select “Customize Columns” and type “Outbound” in the search bar.


Hit both the “outbound clicks” and “outbound click-through rate” to see all of your Facebook ads CTR data on one screen.


What is the Average CTR for Facebook Ads?

Since Facebook advertising uses several kinds of CTR, and the average Facebook ads CTR varies widely by industry and audience, nailing down a single number isn’t always simple.


For a ballpark figure, your average CTR will likely range between 0.5% and 2% – but even that is a lot of variation.


Generally, link clicks see the highest average CTR between 0.70% and 1.2%. Average outbound CTR rates, which take users only off Facebook, ranging from 0.6% to 1%.


These metrics also change between industries. Dividing by industry, we can see that retail and legal industries see a higher CTR average, around 1.6%. Meanwhile, the employment industry sits under 0.5%.


Lastly, you should also consider your audience’s position in the sales funnel.


Campaigns that cold target audiences, like brand awareness campaigns, often see lower CTRs. Facebook campaigns that target repeat viewers or loyal customers will likely see higher CTRs.


What is a Good CTR for Facebook Ads?

Since the average CTR varies so widely, determining a “good” CTR is just as hard.


Some creatives just drive higher click-throughs – and the same is true of many industries.


And many of the lowest-CTR industries offer products or services that take more time to sell, which can further lower your CTR.


Given the enormous range in average and achievable CTRs, there’s not one that’s inherently good.


Ultimately, you can only decide what a healthy CTR for you is by weighing your results against your goals and ROI.


How to Increase Your CTR for Facebook Ads

It’s not enough to build a creative and toss it onto Facebook if you want results. Good ads require thought, foresight, and more than a little tweaking.


If you’re looking to maximize your appeal and draw those link clicks, here’s where to start.


Hook with Your Ad Headline

Your headline is often one of the first points of contact with your audience. A well-written headline draws the eye and complements the rest of your ad, be it copy, images, or a GIF.


What makes a successful headline depends on your industry, audience, and even that individual ad. Over time, you’ll probably find that switching up tactics draws in the biggest crowds long-term. Still, there are a few good rules of thumb to consider.


Headline Size Matters!

Don’t let anyone tell you differently – the length of your headline is essential.


Too short, and you’ll appear low-effort or uninteresting.


Too long, and you’ll bore your audience to yawns.


The sweet spot appears to be between 25-40 characters; just long enough to pique your audience’s interest.


Personalize Your Approach

Don’t be afraid to get in the mud and wrestle alongside your customers. Or, in marketer speak: use audience-first language (“you,” “book lovers,” etc.) to connect on their terms.


Toss In Some Numbers

People like quantifiable information, and sticking numbers in your headlines gives your audience something to latch onto. That could be time left in a sale, the number of people who’ve tried your product, or a specific discount.


Choose the right ones, and you may see your own numbers – that is, your click-through rates – climbing, too.


Touch on Your CTA to Improve CTR

Since your headline is one of their first interaction points, use it to direct your audience to their next steps. If “click the link” is too direct, you can invite them to watch the video or visit your Facebook Page to learn more.


Engage with Imagery

Engaging visuals are more likely to stop scrollers in their tracks than texts or dull colors. Using the right imagery – pictures, videos, GIFs, or other creatives – can help you stand out from the crowd.


Don’t Be Afraid of Color

The human gaze is drawn to color, and that color can stop you from scrolling, evoke emotions, or drive you to act. Your ad’s color combinations should be bright enough to pop without being overwhelming. Don’t fear tasteful contrast, either!


Create Custom Images

The best visuals tell users what they need to know about your brand, style, and products while engaging them in your messaging. That’s hard to do with stock images that appear in dozens of ads.


If you want to truly be unique, then you have to be unique – starting with one-of-a-kind imagery.


Emote It Up!

Emojis have become a huge part of our culture’s communication via text, online – and yes, even in Facebook ads.


Throw away your doubts about professionalism: emojis are about being relatable and catching eyeballs. The right selection can make your Facebook ad feel less advertise-y and more like a natural dialogue with your audience.


That’s not to say you should jam them in every chance you get. Instead, sprinkle them tastefully to capture attention in just the right places.


Emojis, like your favorite dessert, are best consumed in moderation.


Compel Link Clicks with Ad Copy

Compelling ad copy can vastly improve your CTR. The trick is to keep it short, interest, and above on, on brand.


Keep It Short and Sweet

Shorter Facebook posts tend to be more popular among users.


Similarly, short ad copy delivers the punchiest messages and gives you audience less to deal with. In turn, the audience needs less time to act – specifically, to click your ad.


Deliver only the most essential components in your Facebook ad and leave the rest to your landing page.


Ask Interesting Questions

There is power in interesting and thought-provoking questions. With just a few words, you can make your users laugh, ponder something new, and engage.


Then, you can use that in-road to build a bridge toward higher CTRs and eventual conversions.


Use Emotions to Boost Your Ad's Engagement (and Click-Through Rates)

Humans are emotional beings – there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that! If you want to really connect with your audience, take advantage of these emotions to build better connections.


Tapping into curiosity, love, anger, or even just “good vibes” can grow your success and bridge the gap between the screen and your audience’s amygdala.


With the right message and a few well-placed words, you can bring these emotions to life.


Select Your Language Carefully

Power words and action verbs engage the mind and drive interest.


Inversely, passive language may bore your audience into scrolling right along.


Select the right verbiage to fit your audience and pique their interest in your Facebook ad copy.


Play to Your Target Audience

It’s no secret that you should keep your audience in mind when building each Facebook ad.

Your offer – and ad construction – is only as effective as its resonance.


The more your audience connects with your message, the more likely you’ll jack up your CTR.


Tap Into FOMO

FOMO, or fear of missing out, is a powerful marketing tool.


You see it everywhere – in limited-time offers, specialty product runs, and “while supplies last” messaging.


Just make sure your FOMO is actually FOMO (as in, not lying to customers) lest you deceive and alienate customers.


Leverage Social Proof to Naturally Increase CTR

Social proof is when you look around and realize someone else has already taken an action. (Such as liking or clicking on an advertisement.)


With enough social proof, new scrollers will stop on your Facebook ads and say: I could go for that.


You can build social proof by accumulating engagement on the content. (Boosted posts are a lifesaver here!)


You can also send new ads to loyal customers first, then broaden their reach after gaining some likes.


Watch Your Engagement Metrics

When your ad goes live, pay attention to your audience’s receptiveness.


Your impressions cost per click and ad frequency are valuable measures of success.

If you’re not seeing the results you want, chances are, it’s time to revamp your Facebook campaign.


Feel Free to Leave People Out!

If you think someone won’t appreciate your ad, by all means, leave them out! Excluding Facebook users who don’t want your product is almost as important as including those who do.


Optimize Your Ad Design

Your ad design is an essential part of your ad since it comprises basically…everything.

You can make your ads pop off the screen by choosing the right foundation and building up from there.


And it’s not just the physical design: the meta elements, such as your objective, audience targeting, and even your preferred engagement metrics matter, too!


Choose the Right Objective

Your objective guides your ad campaign’s goals and determines your format and even your placement.


Start with the wrong objective, and you’re literally starting off on the wrong foot.

That’s no way to boost your CTR!


Ad Format Matters

Facebook ads can include images, videos, text, and GIFs, all wrapped up in different packages.

Many advertisers find success by varying their formats between campaigns to keep things interesting.


Idealize Your Targeting

Broad target audiences dilute your messaging; narrow audiences shut out potentially interested customers.


The trick is to straddle the line and craft the most compelling message to the widest plausible, not possible, audience.


Increase CTR with Link Clicks

There’s no optimization trick that guarantees a higher CTR.


But when optimizing your bid strategy, Facebook lets you select for Link Clicks. That tells the algorithm to show your Facebook ads to the people most likely to click.


If you’re looking to boost your overall CTR, it’s a great place to start!


Split Test Everything

Testing your Facebook ads is the only way to determine what works and what doesn’t.

Facebook offers built-in A/B split testing to analyze each component of your ad and measure when your audience responds – and when it doesn’t.


Don’t Forget About Retargeting Campaigns

Retargeting campaigns can help Facebook marketers keep customers coming back again and again. (Plus, they’re a handy way to handle that pesky Apple privacy update.)


With well-built retargeting ads, you can increase your CTR by reaching people who’ve already shown interest in your business – perhaps even made a purchase.


Ask Yourself: Would You Click Through?

This is one of the biggest questions in the entire ad creation process. If you wouldn’t click your own ad, why would you expect anyone else to?


Unwillingness to engage with your own content likely means you missed one of the tips above.

Maybe your headline is too long, or your imagery is too muted.


Perhaps you got too wordy in your ad copy.


Worst-case scenario, your Facebook ad is just confusing.


By looking over your ad with a critical eye, you can catch problems before they have a chance to

impact your Facebook ads CTR.


And if you don’t trust your own judgment, reach out to a trusted friend, colleague, or family member for an unbiased opinion.


Key Takeaways: What is a Good CTR for Facebook Ads?

There's no one objectively "good" or "bad" CTR for Facebook ads - though some scores are certainly worse than others.


If you're looking to nail the best Facebook ads CTR, check out your industry's average, then do a little experimenting with your own business.


With some time and a few mistakes, you'll be on your way to building a successful ad campaign and securing a high CTR in no time!


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